Sassy

Saturday, May 28, 2005

Best Lesbian Quote

So, I've decided to add an addition to my blog, knowing me, it'll probably only last for a couple of weeks, but oh well.

Because I am addicted to TV, I have decided to write a post about the best Lesbian quote I hear that week, if I hear any.

This week, I heard a GRRRREEEAAATT one.

While watching the season finale of Law and Order: SVU, we heard the quote that almost made Brie jump out of her skin. All of you by now should know about my beloved's obsession with Mariska Hargitay.

So, Detective Olivia Benson was interrogating a female cop and asking her if she ever had an affair with her male partner. The cop's response:

"Let me be completely honest with you Det. Benson, I'd be more inclined to have an affair with you."

OOOOH, ME TOO ME TOO!!!

Thursday, May 26, 2005

See where being healthy gets you!

So, as most of you know Brie and I are in super diet mode! So far it's been midly successful. I am working late today, so I woke up around 8:30am and figured, I really need to exercise some. So, I decided to suit it up and go running. I took my house key off my key ring, put on my sweat suit and some clothes over it, grabbed my key and off I went running. I got home, took a shower, felt great and decided that I needed to go to Stop and Shop to get something to have for dinner later at work tonight. I got dressed walked out of my building and realized that I NEVER PUT MY HOUSE KEY BACK ON MY KEY RING!!! So I called Amy and she was nice enough to go into work a little late and drive down to let me in because they have a spare.

So, I went to Stop and Shop while she drove down and on my way back home, spotted mama Y pulling into the IKEA parking lot, so I followed her in and stopped to see her. IT WAS THE HIGHLIGHT OF MY MORNING! It made me sooooo happy to see her. Then I drove home and shortly after Amy arrived and let me in.

Now, I sit here, ready for work and can only think, "see where trying to be healthy will get you!"

Thanks Amy for coming all the way down here.

Monday, May 23, 2005

The Mucus Queen

That's my new name, the mucus queen. I feel like one big ball of mucus. To most people, that's gross, to laura, i see no flinch. That's part of what makes her great! Nothing makes this girl SQUEAM!

Anyway, yeah I can't kick this cold. It's kicking my butt. It probably hasn't helped that I've been completely buried at work. My wonderful mama Y comes back this week and I couldn't be happier! I have to say though, I have learned more in the past two weeks than I thought I could have ever learned just hearing someone explain it to me. I've faced many issues that naturally I would just say "you need to see Yvonne about that" and I was in a position where it was basically the Sarah show and I stepped up. It's a good feeling.

In other news, my cat is offically OBESE! She weighs about 16 pounds. The poor thing. Time to go back to that weight control food. I put in the screens in our windows last weekend. I've lost my cat to the wonders of wind and sound. She never leaves the windows. I have begun to think that she thinks that the leaves are birds or at least something she can attack because they move in the wind.

Ok, I'm off to lay down till Brie Brie gets home and we can have dinner. You all have a wonderful evening.

Thursday, May 19, 2005

Hell Yeah!

Sometimes its best to just get lost in the music:

He works way too much for way too little
He drinks way too early till way too late
He hasn't had a raise since New Years Day in 88
Gets trampled on by everyone except when he comes in here
He's a product of the Haggard generation
He's got a redneck side when you get him agitated
He's got the gold tooth look from a stiff right hook he's proud he took
Or a right wing stand in Vietnam, he said he lost his brother there
He yells out Johnny Cash and the band starts to play
A ring of fire as he walks up and he stands there by the stage

And he says Hell Yeah, Turn it up, Right on
Hell yeah, sounds good, sing that song
Guitar man playing all night long
Take me back to where music hits me
Life was good, and love was easy

She's got an MBA and a plush corner office
She's got a don't mess with me attitude
She'll close a deal, she dont reveal that she can't feel
the lonliness, the emptyness except when she comes in here
She's a product of the Me generation
She's got a Rock N' Roll side when you get her agitated
She's got a tattoo there on her dereire from a spring break dare
In Panama when love was all she thought she'd ever need
She's yells out to the band, know any Bruce Springstein
Then she jumps up on the bar and she, and she starts to scream

And she says Hell Yeah, Turn it up, Right on
Hell yeah, sounds good, sing that song
Guitar man playing all night long
Take me back to where music hits me
Life was good, and love was easy

Yeah yeah anything to get my mind off thinking about
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday
Hey, Hell Yeah!

Hell Yeah, Turn it up, Right on
Hell yeah, sounds good, sing that song
Guitar man playing all night long
Take me back to where music hits me
Life was good

Hell Yeah, Turn it up, Right on
Hell yeah, sounds good, sing that song
Guitar man playing all night long
Take me back to where music hits me
Life was good, and love was easy

Friday, May 13, 2005

My Love

I was reading my Brie's post called "Something I like" and as I read it I found myself falling for her all over again. It's her thoughts like this among other things that make me realize how amazing she is, and how incredibly lucky I am.

I know that there are going to be people along the way that will develop crushes for her and some of those people will express those feelings to her and she'll have crushes on other people. Will I get jealous, probably, but how could I not expect it? She's incredible. I just have to do my best to show her day in and day out how much she means to me and how much I never want to lose her. Let's face it, this is the girl that I want to go to bed with every night. The girl I want to wake up to every morning even if we do both have yucky breath. The girl I want to be indecisive with over everything from food to what to do on a Sunday to who drives, and so on. The girl I want to have babies with. The girl I want to grow old with and the girl I want to develop those face lines with.

3 years strong and still feeling this way. We must have done something right along the way.

Wednesday, May 11, 2005

Deep Sympathy

To my Laurski,

My deepest and sincerest condolences to you and your family. I stand here today having lost three of my grandparents. It's never an easy thing but it stings so much deeper when its one you're close to. We love you and don't forget that we're here.

calla lilly
Originally uploaded by sarahs.

Monday, May 09, 2005

Sadness

Here comes word vomit.

As many moms around the country yesterday celebrated their day, my mom, my dad, my brother, my family sat in sadness and anger.

My sister-in-law called my brother yesterday morning and told him OVER THE PHONE that she wants an annulment. She never once attempted to work things out with him. He begged for couples counseling, she refused continually saying that she wasn't ready. Then out of the blue yesterday, on Mother's Day of all days, she calls him up and says, "yeah i'm done." Coward.

What kills me the most though is that she put of all this on my brother and blamed him for everything. Many of you know my brother's story and although it definitely contributed, there much more to the story that comes from her that she is not owning up to. That was a major enabler in my brother's problem.

My brother and I are not very close at all, but she hurt him. Not only did she hurt him, she hurt my mom, she hurt my dad, she hurt my Memere and she hurt me. She and I were extremely close. She hardly said boo to me after she kicked him out and if she did try and talk to me, she would continually ask me about my cat and my cat alone. Never any substance. Hmmm... guilty much? Then, two weeks ago, she had the nerve to show up in my parents house and act as if nothing was wrong. Well... my give a damn's busted. Never to be fixed.

Friday, May 06, 2005

Happy Hands!!!

Hello my people.

I found out yesterday that IKEA is going to pay for me to learn sign language! I am verrrryyy excited. Not only because I'll be able to communicate with the hearing impared coworkers that we have, but also because now I'll officially be able to join the HAPPY HANDS CLUB!

Lets face it.. there's nothing better.

happy hands
Originally uploaded by sarahs.