Sassy

Friday, March 26, 2010

Yogurt

Ok, this is my rant for the day...

We have really been trying to make a conscious effort to start eating better and healthier. I mean, the wedding is only 163 days away and the dress fittings are even sooner than that.

So, I decided that i need more calcium in my diet anyway, so I bought a bunch of yogurts to have as a mid-morning snack to hold me over to lunch. So I get a bunch of these Yoplait Lights...

I'm sitting here at my desk looking at the container thinking "oh i'm about to dive right into you" slight salivating at the thought of getting more food in my belly... Then I pick it up and actually read the packaging...

It tells me that it has "live and active cultures" in it... instantly, appetite suppression... screw that, who needs smoking... just go around reading yogurt packaging...

Now yes, i undersatnd that acidophilus is actually good for you and is considered "good bacteria", but the mere thought of the live bacteria living in the food i'm about to consume is a little disturbing.

I'm going to eat it anyway, but really?!!!

Damn you Yoplait and your yummy yogurts!

Monday, March 22, 2010

WEDDING

Ok... so I have decided that once again, I want to try and start blogging more often... I always do this back and forth dance, yes i will blog more, no i wont...

So, considering that we are now pretty close to almost 5 months from the wedding, I decided to give it another crack.

Oh ps... in case anyone out there reading this didn't know... I'm engaged and getting married in Sept. YAY!

No one ever really stopped to say "hey, just so you know, this task of planning a wedding, will indeed drive you insane" that would have been really helpful in the beginning... plenty of people knew about it... WHERE WERE YOU?!

We do have quite a bit done, but it just feels like there are so many things that are half done, or have yet to get done completely. I never cease to be amazed at how many things need to be discussed... in the beginning it was "ok, we need to discuss whether we'll see each other's dresses.. we're not? ok... so now will we know we're not picking the same one?"

Then it transpired into talking about music... which is still an on-going conversation... then food... then cake flavors... then the incredible daunting task of registering... DUH DUH DUH.... it took us 3 HOURS to do HALF of the registering... I couldn't even fathom the idea of thinking about bedding... i mean, at first it was fun... then it quickly turned into... i'm just going to close my eyes, point this scan gun and that's what we're registering for. You'll thank me later for your bamboo-cast iron infused cookie jar/napkin holder.

We just picked out menu last weekend... then we went and ordered samples of invitations... SAMPLES of invitations... does it really matter? a) people all throw them out anyway and b) I can make one phone call and give you all the information you need. Here is how the call would go: Hello , my wedding: Sept. 5, 3pm, here's where it is. Show up on time. yes its an open bar. Click. EVERYONE'S HAPPY!

I am pretty sure there is a list of about 100 things that I haven't even thought about that will all hit me the day before... all I know is that there better be beer on hand and... there better be beer on hand.

Any ideas, hints, tips or comments... feel free to share.

Friday, March 27, 2009

All By Myself



I was alone... I was all by myself... (Remember that hidden track from Dookie?)

Friday afternoons here in Workville, USA render me all alone for about 30 minutes. I have no idea why, but when I first started, I agreed that I would come in at 7am and stay until 3:30 and the other two people I work with could leave at 2:45 and 3pm. In hindsight, Open Mouth... Insert Foot. Actually, I dont usually mind it. If I have something going on, I can usually swindle my way to leave at 3 and someone else stays but more often than not... I stay.

Although, I don't know why I'm really even talking about this because there is a severe shortage of socialization that happens in my department. I have never in my entire life worked with people who did not talk as much as these people dont. Let me tell you... it makes for a LOOOONNNNNGGGGG day... forget about week.

This is the point of the day though that I usually start to count the minutes until I get to leave... and for the record, we are currently at 20.

I guess that's all I have to say for now... I'm going to go back sitting here staring blankly at the screen thinking "is it time yet?"

Lemons SUCK

So, I went out to dinner last night with my wonderful girlfriend for her birthday. We both ordered our respective adult beverages along with waters... the waitress brings them back with lemon in them of course... riddle me this, WHY MUST THEY PUT LEMON IN EVERYTHING NOW??

I personally HAAATTEEEE lemons in my water, in my diet soft drinks, in pretty much everything. Don't assume I want lemon in my water, just because its the 21st century and its "just the thing to do now" when you order a water, it should be standard, just as standard as "would you like fries with that" to ask "would you like lemon with that" after all... you're not far off from a drive through window...

So in honor of all those food service professionals who mistakenly ASSUME that everyone wants lemon in their water, I altered a nice little tune for you...

Just as karaoke would present it:

In the style of "Bring Me Some Water" by Melissa Etheridge:

Tonight I need a drink
But there’s nothing much in here
I turn the other cheek
And I taste the slap and the sting of the lemon in there
And I know you only serve us
But I haven’t got patience no
So tonight while you make your excuses
Somebody else is better off, I know

Somebody bring me some water
Can’t you see I’m thirsty as hell
Can’t you see this lemon is floating inside
Water without lemon would be really swell
Somebody bring me some water
Can’t you see its out of control
Lemons all in this, and lemons all in that
But tonight that old lemon, old lemon’s got to go

When will this bitter taste pass
When will this gross be through
I want to break a glass
I only taste that juice in here with my cube
And I do anything to get it out of my mind
I need some lack of taste, that temporary kind
Tell me when will it ever, ever go away
When everyone insists its better that way??!!

Somebody bring me some water
Can’t you see I’m thirsty as hell
Can’t you see this lemon is floating inside
Water without lemon would be really swell
Somebody bring me some water
Can’t you see its out of control
Lemons all in this, and lemons all in that
But tonight that old lemon, old lemon’s got to go

OLD LEMON’S GOT TO GO

ITS FRIDAY!!!!

Lets all join Super Grover in doing the Vanilla Ice - Ice Ice Baby dance to ring in a very happy Friday!!!!

Thursday, March 26, 2009

COUNTDOWN!!!!!

Two major things I am currently counting down until...

48 days until this long journey of finishing my Masters comes to an end and I am here:



THEN...

There are 79 days until my VIV (Very Important Vacation) where this is my view for an entire week:



Awesome.

Whoa Nelly....

Ok, so, I've been going back to reading the last few posts I've put up... HOLY DEPRESSING BATMAN! Seriously. Don't read them... you'll want to go slit your wrists or jump off a bridge... just coast right past them and go read some of the posts from 2004. They're way more entertaining.

I promise no more of that shit... back to more fun, light-hearted, why is work so boring sometimes, cool posts!

Hey, did I mention that its Michelle's birthday today?! What does she want to do?? Go buy a patio set.. ooohhh... watch out now! She's getting ca-ca-ca-crazy!!! Lol... its ok... I suppose that once you pass 30 things like patio sets get you excited... good thing I've a nice cool 21 months away from that horrendous milestone, phew! Its still beer, pool, golf and cross-stitching to excite me... wait, what?

Executive Decisions Rock

I have made the executive decision to start blogging again... I recently went back and was reading some of my very first posts... its amazing how creative you can get while unemployed... this blog goes way back... we're talking YEARS... its actually kind of a trip, how much changes over the course of a few years...

Anyway... here's to getting back on the wagon!

Monday, April 14, 2008

RED SOX NATION ALIVE AND KICKING!!!

NY Yankees unearth buried Red Sox jersey from new stadium

By KAREN MATTHEWS, Associated Press Writer 3 hours, 56 minutes ago

NEW YORK (AP)—A construction worker’s bid to curse the New York Yankees by planting a Boston Red Sox jersey in their new stadium was foiled when the home team removed the offending shirt from its burial spot.

After locating the shirt in a service corridor behind what will be a restaurant in the new Yankee Stadium, construction workers jackhammered through the concrete Sunday and pulled it out.

The team said it learned that a Red Sox-rooting construction worker had buried a shirt in the new Bronx stadium, which will open next year across the street from the current ballpark, from a report in the New York Post on Friday.

Yankees president Randy Levine said team officials at first considered leaving the shirt where it was.

“The first thought was, you know, it’s never a good thing to be buried in cement when you’re in New York,” Levine said. “But then we decided, why reward somebody who had really bad motives and was trying to do a really bad thing?”

On Saturday, construction workers who remembered the employee, Gino Castignoli phoned in tips about the shirt’s location.

“We had anonymous people come tell us where it was, and we were able to find it,” said Frank Gramarossa, a project executive with Turner Construction, the general contractor on the site.

It took about five hours of drilling Saturday to locate the shirt under 2 feet of concrete, he said.

On Sunday, Levine and Yankees CEO Lonn Trost watched as Gramarossa and foreman Rich Corrado finished the job and pulled the shirt from the rubble.

In shreds from the jackhammers, the shirt still bore the letters “Red Sox” on the front. It was a David Ortiz jersey, No. 34.

Trost said the Yankees had discussed possible criminal charges against Castignoli with the district attorney’s office.

“We will take appropriate action since fortunately we do know the name of the individual,” he said.

A spokesman for Bronx District Attorney Robert Johnson said Sunday he did not know whether any criminal charges might apply.

“It’s typical Yankees,” Castignoli told the Boston Herald on Monday. “It’s not like I snuck in there. It didn’t do any structural damage. I didn’t put anyone in harm’s way.”

Castignoli, 46, said he became a Red Sox fan during his childhood in 1975 when he idolized slugger Jim Rice.

As construction began for the new Yankee Stadium, Castignoli said his union got after him to work on the project. The Red Sox fan was reluctant.

“I would not go near Yankee Stadium, not for all the hot dogs in the world,” he told the Herald.

But he relented, and hatched the plan to plant the jersey. He said he worked just a single day at the stadium project.

“It was worth it,” he said.

Levine said the shirt would be cleaned up and sent to the Jimmy Fund, a charity affiliated with Boston’s Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. Along with that, New York will send a Yankees Universe T-shirt, which is sold to benefit Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center.

“Hopefully the Jimmy Fund will auction it off and we’ll take the act that was a very, very bad act and turn it into something beautiful,” he said.

Monday, April 02, 2007

Ever think?

Ever think you totally know someone and then you come to find out that you SOOOOOO dont? Yeah.. that's what has been going on with me as of late....

Life has been great! Fantastic.. Wonderful...

I love love love love love my job.... my personal life is really great... I have wonderful people in my life and have set myself apart from those who were just not healthy for me to be around... I really am doing well. I am happy. It feels so good to say and for the first time in a very long time... really really REALLY mean it. I am happy.

With that... I'm off to bed... I hope all is well out there...

Hugs and Kisses!

Wednesday, February 28, 2007

Who kicks ass?!

I DO I DO!!!! Sarah got offered a job today!!!!

WOO HOO!!!!