Sassy

Friday, March 26, 2010

Yogurt

Ok, this is my rant for the day...

We have really been trying to make a conscious effort to start eating better and healthier. I mean, the wedding is only 163 days away and the dress fittings are even sooner than that.

So, I decided that i need more calcium in my diet anyway, so I bought a bunch of yogurts to have as a mid-morning snack to hold me over to lunch. So I get a bunch of these Yoplait Lights...

I'm sitting here at my desk looking at the container thinking "oh i'm about to dive right into you" slight salivating at the thought of getting more food in my belly... Then I pick it up and actually read the packaging...

It tells me that it has "live and active cultures" in it... instantly, appetite suppression... screw that, who needs smoking... just go around reading yogurt packaging...

Now yes, i undersatnd that acidophilus is actually good for you and is considered "good bacteria", but the mere thought of the live bacteria living in the food i'm about to consume is a little disturbing.

I'm going to eat it anyway, but really?!!!

Damn you Yoplait and your yummy yogurts!

Monday, March 22, 2010

WEDDING

Ok... so I have decided that once again, I want to try and start blogging more often... I always do this back and forth dance, yes i will blog more, no i wont...

So, considering that we are now pretty close to almost 5 months from the wedding, I decided to give it another crack.

Oh ps... in case anyone out there reading this didn't know... I'm engaged and getting married in Sept. YAY!

No one ever really stopped to say "hey, just so you know, this task of planning a wedding, will indeed drive you insane" that would have been really helpful in the beginning... plenty of people knew about it... WHERE WERE YOU?!

We do have quite a bit done, but it just feels like there are so many things that are half done, or have yet to get done completely. I never cease to be amazed at how many things need to be discussed... in the beginning it was "ok, we need to discuss whether we'll see each other's dresses.. we're not? ok... so now will we know we're not picking the same one?"

Then it transpired into talking about music... which is still an on-going conversation... then food... then cake flavors... then the incredible daunting task of registering... DUH DUH DUH.... it took us 3 HOURS to do HALF of the registering... I couldn't even fathom the idea of thinking about bedding... i mean, at first it was fun... then it quickly turned into... i'm just going to close my eyes, point this scan gun and that's what we're registering for. You'll thank me later for your bamboo-cast iron infused cookie jar/napkin holder.

We just picked out menu last weekend... then we went and ordered samples of invitations... SAMPLES of invitations... does it really matter? a) people all throw them out anyway and b) I can make one phone call and give you all the information you need. Here is how the call would go: Hello , my wedding: Sept. 5, 3pm, here's where it is. Show up on time. yes its an open bar. Click. EVERYONE'S HAPPY!

I am pretty sure there is a list of about 100 things that I haven't even thought about that will all hit me the day before... all I know is that there better be beer on hand and... there better be beer on hand.

Any ideas, hints, tips or comments... feel free to share.